Kathmandu Dubar Square

Kathmandu's Durbar (Palace) Square is also called Hanuman Dhoka (the gates of Hanuman) for the Hindu deity who symbolized devotion. It is divided into two principal areas: the outer one contains the Kumari Ghar (the house of the Kumari, a virgin "living goddess"), the 11th century Kasthamandap (the wooden resthouse), Narayan Mandir, the stone statue of Garuda, and the Shiva-Parvati temple. 

The inner area comprises the courtyards of the old palace complex. The principal space is Nasal chowk, the seat of important national ceremonies including coronations. Mohan chowk, Sundari Chowk and Lohan Chowk are other courtyards. There are four towers named after Basantpur, Kirtipur, Lalitpur, (Patan) and Bhaktapur. 

There are many exceptional temples in the area, the most notable being the Taleju Temple dedicated to the royal tutelary deity, Taleju Bhawani. The grounds of this temple are opened to the public only once a year, and only certain priests can enter the sanctuary. 


The Magnificent Seven - The World Heritage Sites of the Kathmandu Valley

The Valley of Kathmandu is fertile, flat and compact. It is situated at the altitude of between 1,200 to 1,500 meters (between 4,000 to 5,000 feet).

The valley is also small, with an area of only 220 square miles (570 square kilometers). Yet in its smallness, there are record seven World Heritage Sites declared by the UNESCO - a fact unrivalled anywhere in the world! The seven man-made wonders are the milestones of Nepal's past and a living museum of high culture. 


Unesco World Heritage Sites in Kathmandu

   Kathmandu Durbar Square

   Patan Durbar Square

   Medieval Bhaktapur

   Swayambhunath Temple Complex

   Boudhanath Stupa

   Changu Narayan Temple

   Pashupatinath Temple